An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

United States Air Force - Major Commands

For definitions of lineage terms used in these entries, see the Glossary in the Guide to USAF Lineage and Honors.

During the half century that the U.S. Air Force has existed as a separate service, 27 organizations designated as major commands have existed. As of January 2020, only nine major commands remain active. These commands and the stations of their headquarters are: Air Combat Command, Langley AFB, Virginia; Air Education and Training Command, Randolph AFB, Texas; Air Force Global Strike Command, Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana; Air Force Materiel Command, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio; Air Force Reserve Command, Robins AFB, Georgia; Air Force Special Operations Command, Hurlburt Field, Florida; Air Mobility Command, Scott AFB, Illinois; Pacific Air Forces, Hickam AFB, Hawaii; and United States Air Forces in Europe, Ramstein AB, Germany. The others have either inactivated or lost their command status. A brief statement of functional antecedents precedes the lineage of each USAF major command, past and present.