Air Force Historical Research Agency   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Organizational Records > Major Commands
Major Commands

For definitions of lineage terms used in these entries, see the Glossary in the Guide to USAF Lineage and Honors.

During the half century that the U.S. Air Force has existed as a separate service, 27 organizations designated as major commands have existed. As of January 2008, only ten major commands remain active. These commands and the stations of their headquarters are: Air Combat Command, Langley AFB, Virginia; Air Education and Training Command, Randolph AFB, Texas; Air Force Global Strike Command, Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana; Air Force Materiel Command, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio; Air Force Reserve Command, Robins AFB, Georgia; Air Force Space Command, Peterson AFB, Colorado; Air Force Special Operations Command, Hurlburt Field, Florida; Air Mobility Command, Scott AFB, Illinois; Pacific Air Forces, Hickam AFB, Hawaii; and United States Air Forces in Europe, Ramstein AB, Germany. The others have either inactivated or lost their command status. A brief statement of functional antecedents precedes the lineage of each USAF major command, past and present.

tabInactivated MAJCOMs 
tabCurrent MAJCOMS 

 Inside AFHRA

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act