Air Force Historical Research Agency   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Home > Fact Sheets > 87 Air Base Wing (AMC)


Posted 8/31/2010 Printable Fact Sheet

Lineage. Established as 87 Troop Carrier Wing, Medium, on 26 May 1952. Activated in the Reserve on 15 Jun 1952. Inactivated on 15 Feb 1953. Redesignated: 87 Tactical Airlift Wing on 31 Jul 1985; 87 Air Base Wing on 19 Feb 2009. Activated on 3 Mar 2009.

Assignments. 2 Air Reserve District, 15 Jun 1952-1 Feb 1953. Eighteenth Air Force (Air Forces Transportation), 3 Mar 2009-.

Operational Components. Group. 87 Troop Carrier: 15 Jun 1952-1 Feb 1953.
Stations. Atterbury AFB, IN, 15 Jun 1952-1 Feb 1953. McGuire AFB, NJ, 3 Mar 2009-.

Commanders. Col George C. Riley, 15 Jun 1952-1 Feb 1953; Unkn, 2-15 Feb 1953. Col Gina M. Grosso, 3 Mar 2009-.
Aircraft. T-7, 1952-1953; C-46, 1952-1953; C-47, 1953; B-25, 1952-1953; T-6, 1953.

Operations. Replaced non-flying 923 Reserve Training Wing. Trained under supervision of 2 Air Reserve District and 2466 Air Force Reserve Training Center, using aircraft assigned to the center. Experienced difficulty recruiting and retaining qualified airmen. Replaced in Feb 1953 by 434 Troop Carrier Wing, Medium.
Service Streamers. None.
Campaign Streamers. None.
Armed Forces Expeditionary Streamers. None.

Decorations. None.
Bestowed Honors. Authorized to display honors earned by the 87 Fighter Group prior to 26 May 1952. Service Streamers. World War II, American Theater. Campaign Streamers. None. Decorations. None.

Lineage, Assignments, Components, Stations, Commanders, and Honors through 26 Mar 2009.

Aircraft and Operations through 15 Feb 1953.

Emblem. None on file. Wing may design and request approval of an emblem in accordance with AFI 84-105, Chapter 3.

Prepared by Patsy Robertson.

Reviewed by Daniel Haulman.

 Inside AFHRA

ima cornerSearch

ima cornerOrganizations


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act